It’s amazing to me how music in America is really in the forefront right now, especially on TV. I’ve never, in my lifetime, seen sooo many shows centered around this one performance medium, music. You have American Idol, The Voice, America’s Got Talent, Glee, and now a new show Smash with AI’s Katherine McPhee.

As a singer, I have to admit that I’m addicted to watching these shows and have auditioned for The Voice, America’s Got Talent and X-Factor and really got a good behind the scenes look at how they work.  MANY of the auditionees you see don’t actually stand in line with the masses and have what they call a “scheduled audition”. They are professional artists that already have a manager, label, or some sort of representation. These are not a mature singers. Some of this business is STILL “who you know”. And ALOT of it is image, not talent. So if you have image+talent…you have a far better chance of a successful, sustainable career in music.

So did everyone catch the 1st episode of The Voice last night?  I have two personal acquaintances on there, which is really wierd-cool! I am definitely seeing a lot higher quality talent this year on Idol and on The Voice and I have a little theory as to why.

Teens now have access to so much more material and informational training with YouTube, and the internet in general.  I wasn’t exposed to jazz, R&B, etc growing up – if your parents didn’t listen to it – you never heard it. My household was filled with black gospel music….that was it. We weren’t allowed to listen to the radio, or “secular” music. I heard it only at the skating rink and occasionally at friends houses where I would tape songs on the radio and sneak it home for my headphones.  Teens are now exposed to anything and everything and so they have, in my opinion, become more seasoned sounding singers and have access to vocal lessons online, tips, and more. They can pull up videos of Ella Fitgerald, Patti Labelle in concert, Brett Manning singing lessons, stage presence tips, artists from Europe that never get airplay on our radio stations – they can find it all. We had none of that and had to learn only through our surroundings and connections, which took YEARS of life learning and experience. Things have really changed!

Does anyone have any comments on these shows so far?? I would love to hear what you think – as time goes by I may blog more specifically on these shows and singers in particular I really like…or don’t!

